The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

IMG_2848.JPG

Originally published in: 2014

What it’s about: A widowed bookseller approaching middle age finds himself suddenly tasked with taking care of an orphaned baby girl.

What made me pick it up: This author was on the long list of possible invitees to our wonderful hometown book festival but I didn’t recognize her name so I checked what she had written, realized I hadn’t read it, and grabbed it off the shelf that day.

My favorite things: This book was a quick and pleasant read. I liked the relationship building and the mild and predictable plot twists. The characters were also enjoyable. It has a mild grumpy old man factor, but since he’s only in his late 30s when the book begins I don’t think it quite qualifies as one of those books. More than anything it reminded me of Mitch Albom’s writings – how a character is supported and affected by a web of surrounding factors and characters he knows nothing bout, but we as readers do.

Who it’s great for: Fans of Mitch Albom or Fredrik Backman. Lovers of grumpy old man lit. Readers who enjoy small town novels with sweet stories and neatly wrapped up, hope filled endings.

Erica’s rating: three-and-a-half-shells


Find this book on Amazon (affiliate link) or in your local library.


 

One thought on “The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s